Home About

We are developing an education workforce strategy to support Aotearoa New Zealand to have a strong, culturally competent education workforce, with the right skills and dispositions to encourage every learner on their education pathway and to help every learner fulfil their potential.

The strategy is being informed by the work underway in the Education Work Programme, and the Education Summits, Kōrero Mātauranga, wānanga, fono, and other public engagement.

Development of the draft strategy is being led by the Ministry of Education after extensive discussions with the education sector, this includes voices from early learning, primary and secondary, disability and learning support, Māori medium, Pacific medium, independent schools, ITE providers, unions and teaching organisations.

It will provide the Government with a range of aspirational, transformational and enduring options for consideration and public consultation. A list of sector organisations involved in the strategy development can be found below.

Alongside the broader Education Workforce Strategy, there is also a Rāngai Māori Strategy to focus on teaching and learning in full immersion Māori-medium settings (Level 1).

The Rāngai Māori Workforce Group will support the development of the Rāngai Māori Strategy, in consultation with the education sector.

The education workforce is one of Aotearoa New Zealand’s biggest. Over 7,000 organisations employ around 120,000 people from early learning through to secondary, and this includes state and private entities with differing relationships to education agencies.

Education Workforce Strategy Vision

The draft Education Workforce Strategy has a vision statement – which is for Aotearoa New Zealand to have a capable, valued and connected and supported education workforce, that drives a world leading, learner focused education system.

Education Sector organisations working with the Ministry of Education to develop the Education Workforce Strategy:

  • Association of Proprietors of Integrated Schools
  • Auckland Primary Principals Association
  • Auckland Secondary School Principals Association
  • Early Childhood Council
  • Education Review Office (ERO)
  • Kōhanga Reo National Trust
  • Montessori Aotearoa New Zealand
  • New Zealand Council of Deans of Education
  • New Zealand Council for Educational Research (NZCER)
  • New Zealand Kindergartens
  • New Zealand Pacific Principals Association (NZPPA)
  • New Zealand Qualifications Authority (NZQA)
  • New Zealand School Trustees Association (NZSTA)
  • New Zealand Secondary Principals Council (NZSPC)
  • New Zealand Principals Association (NZPF)
  • Ngā Kura ā Iwi o Aotearoa
  • NZEI / Te Riu Roa
  • Office for Disability Issues
  • Post Primary Teachers Association (PPTA)
  • School Business Managers Association
  • Secondary Principals Association of New Zealand (SPANZ)
  • Te Akatea / New Zealand Māori Principals Association
  • Teaching Council of New Zealand (formerly the Education Council)
  • Te Taura Whiri I te reo Māori / Maori Language Commission
  • Te Rūnanga Nui o Ngā Kura Kaupapa.