Home About Out and About
The Review of Achievement Standards will commence in 2020 as part of the NCEA Review Change Package.

What is RAS?

The achievement standards are due to be reviewed every five years. The RAS presents an opportunity to bring the curriculum to the forefront of teaching and learning to address equity and parity issues, teacher and student workload issues and to ensure that the standards are fit for purpose for today’s context and into the future.

This is also an opportunity to action the outcomes of the NCEA Review that relate to achievement standards and resources.

We will be reviewing:

  • All subject matrices
  • All achievement standards
  • All assessment resources, teaching and learning guides, and exemplars

We will be expanding supports to include more assessment tasks and additional exemplars for each reviewed standard.

Timeline for the RAS

Download this PDF to view the timeline for the Review of Achievement Standards

Review of Achievement Standards Pilot Phase underway

The Review of Achievement Standards Pilot Phase commenced on 1 October and will finish on 30 April 2020. This phase is an exciting opportunity to test the thinking and design of new NCEA learning and assessment resources, ahead of the Review in 2020. It builds on the extensive consultation and co-design we conducted with all New Zealanders with an interest in NCEA during 2018.

Four subjects have been selected to run through the process ahead of the full scale review planned to commence on 1 May 2020. Led by the Ministry, the aim is to refine the processes we will be using to develop new learning and assessment products and supporting resources for all NCEA subjects. To support us in this new and challenging work, we have formed subject expert groups (SEGs) for Science, Visual Arts, Religious Studies and English.

The feedback and results from the pilot phase will inform the process for all subjects at NCEA Levels 1-3.




Visual Arts

Religious Studies


These are the members on the current SEGs.

Subject Name Organisation

Sabina Cleary

Mike Stone

Ross Redpath

Faye Booker

Fiona Wolff

Andrea Tritton

Alison Campbell

David Housden

Azra Moeed

Murray Thompson

Mairi Borthwick

Tiria Waitai

Peter Macdonald

Kaha Education

Learning Solutions

Inglewood High School

Edgewater College

Morrinsville College

Hobsonville Point Secondary School

Waikato University (retired)

St Bernards' College

Victoria University

Logan Park High School

Freyberg High School

On study leave

AG Challenge

Visual Arts

Beau Morgan

Donna Tupaea-Petero

Regan Balzer

Susie Gilroy

Bridget Blair

Blair Kennedy

Jennie Williams

Joyce Campbell

Tarawera High School

Alfriston College

Waikato University

Southern Cross Campus

Cashmere High School

Kings High School

McLeans College

Elam School of Fine Arts


Jane Dewar

Kalia Lautusi

Mark Edgcombe

Lorena Strother

Megan Taylor

Phobie Howarth

Natalia Faitala

Hutt International Boys School

Aotea College

Tawa College

Fraser High School

University of Canterbury

Te Aho o te Kura Pounamu

Wesley College

Religious Studies

Paul Morris

John Chote

Andrew Murray

Lisa Jenkins

Colin MacLeod

Joseph Bulbulia

Steve Autagavaia

Tom Silverwood

Victoria University of Wellington

Sacred Heart College, Lower Hutt

Sacred Heart Girls' College, New Plymouth

St Peters College, Auckland

Catholic Institute of New Zealand

Auckland University

Hato Paora College

St Josephs Maori School for Girls



If you have any questions about the Review of Achievement Standards, contact the Ministry team at ras.review@education.govt.nz