Home About

This website has been wound up and is no longer maintained. For up-to-date information and resources about the NCEA Change Programme, go to NCEA.education.govt.nz.



12 November 2020


Have your say: Draft NCEA Literacy & Numeracy standards


The Ministry of Education is seeking feedback on the draft English-medium Literacy & Numeracy Assessment Standards that have been developed as part of the NCEA Change Package.

The standards will guide the design of the external assessments that will be used to assess the literacy and numeracy standards as a co-requisite to the NCEA qualification from 2023.

An online feedback form can be accessed from the following link from 18 November – 18 December 2020.

[This link has been removed - NCEA Literacy and Numeracy questionnaire.]


Draft English-medium Literacy and Numeracy Assessment Standards:


  • [This link has been removed - Pāngarau - Learning Matrix.]
  • [This link has been removed - Pāngarau - Achievement Standard.]
  • [This link has been removed - Te Reo Matatini - Learning Matrix.]
  • [This link has been removed - Te Reo Matatini - Achievement Standard.]


The feedback will be used to refine the draft standards and supporting resources, in preparation for a planned pilot in Terms 3 and 4 of the 2021 school year.

The Ministry is currently testing the draft Māori-medium Literacy & Numeracy Assessment Standards, derived from Te Marautanga o Aotearoa (TMoA), with key stakeholders before releasing them for public feedback early next year.

Introducing mandatory standards will help ensure that everyone who has an NCEA qualification has a good level of foundational literacy and numeracy. The standards will be externally assessed and students will need to achieve them in order to be awarded any level of NCEA qualification. Schools can start preparing for the change now by considering how to support learners' progress toward Curriculum Level 4/5 literacy and numeracy.

The Ministry will work with NZQA to phase in the requirements so that schools, wharekura and tertiary providers have adequate time to prepare students.

We will also take into account unique learning contexts as we consider the assessment conditions for the standards. Settings include, but are not limited to, Māori-medium, English-medium tertiary settings, English Language Learners, and students with learning support needs.


This page was last updated on 18 November 2020